11/02/2017 7:30 am-9:30 am

Event Details

BizTimes Media presents the fourth annual awards program to salute southeastern Wisconsin’s best corporate citizens and most effective nonprofit organizations.

The awards will shine a light on excellence in philanthropy and nonprofit leadership. The recipients of the awards will be saluted at a breakfast program on November 2nd, 2017.



Solve your labor shortage and get engaged in social change Business owners who seek to fill the labor shortage and grow their companies should make plans to attend the fourth annual Nonprofit Excellence Awards, where we will discuss solutions to develop entrepreneurs and employees in Milwaukee.

Companies and nonprofits in southeastern Wisconsin can collaborate to solve the problems facing businesses, while benefitting the community. Milwaukee’s population suffers from a lack of opportunity.

Take action to address your skills gap by finding creative solutions. Create jobs and drive economic growth by providing those job opportunities and training to disadvantaged workers. Become engaged in your community.

On Nov. 2, hear from employers and community leaders involved in the efforts to foster economic stability, fill the skills gap and generate momentum for Milwaukee.

• Bill Krugler, president, Milwaukee JobsWork [1]
• Cheryl Fritz, business development manager, STEP Industries [2]
• JoAnne Johnson-Sabir, The Juice Kitchen, Sherman Phoenix [3]
• Austin Ramirez, chief executive officer, HUSCO International [4]
• Joaquin Altoro, vice president, Town Bank [5]

• Kimberly Kane, founder and president, Kane Communications Group [6]

Congratulations to the 2017 Finalists:

Corporate Citizenship Awards

Corporate Citizen of the Year:
This award is given to a for-profit organization in recognition of its impact to a single or multiple nonprofit organizations through financial contributions collective efforts to promote, encourage and organize fundraising efforts and company-sponsored programs and/or events engaging employees to participate in volunteerism.

  • JPMorgan Chase
  • Kohl’s
  • West Bend Mutual Insurance

Corporate Volunteer of the Year
This award is given to a for-profit non-executive volunteer who demonstrates outstanding dedication to a nonprofit or multiple nonprofit organizations. Active volunteerism can be ongoing or linked to a specific single project or cause.

  • Nick Obrochta, Kohl’s Corporation
  • Robert Kennedy, WE Energies, Inc.

In-Kind Supporter
This award is given to a professional or company that provides in-kind support to single or multiple nonprofit organizations through any type of non-financial contributions.

  • Anthologie, Inc.
  • Bartolotta Restaurants
  • SafeNet Consulting

Next Generation Leadership
This award is given to for-profit, (under 40 year-old) executive who demonstrates leadership and significant contributions to single or multiple nonprofit organizations through active leadership on a board and/or strategic management/guidance.

  • Molly Schweiger, PNC Financial Services
  • Benjamin Juarez, Public Policy Forum

Nonprofit Awards

Nonprofit Collaboration of the year award
This award recognizes a collaborative project that encompasses developed collaborative relationships with other nonprofit organizations engagement of multiple stakeholders within the community being served and innovation in approaching a community problem or issue and have leveraged these relationships to make and even more meaningful impact in the community. Note: since this award recognizes a project that may involve multiple organizations or individuals, it may be “awarded” to more than one part of the project in recognition of their contributions.

  • Next Door
  • SaintA
  • Augustine Preparatory Academy / Walter Schroeder Aquatic Center

Nonprofit Executive of the Year
This award is given to a nonprofit leader who demonstrates vision and innovation in advancing the mission of the nonprofit extensive involvement in a nonprofit and/or creativity in bringing new resources and opportunities to the nonprofit.

  • Patti Gorsky, Make-A-Wish Wisconsin
  • Keith Stanley, Near West Side Partners, Inc.
  • Ellen Blathers, Serenity Inns, Inc.

Nonprofit (organization) of the year
This award is given to a nonprofit organization (not an individual) in recognition for creativity and innovation in building a sustainable organization excellence in teamwork and an outstanding dedication to the organization’s mission in the community organizational excellence in management and operations

Large (operating budget $3M and above)

  • Beyond Vision
  • Milwaukee Rescue Mission
  • The Threshold, Incorporated

Small (operating budget under $3M)

  • Greater Milwaukee Committee
  • Hispanic Professionals of Greater Milwaukee
  • Summit Educational Association, Inc.
Loading Map....